The Most Beautiful Suicide


This photograph is of Evelyn McHale. On the 1st May 1947 she jumped 86 floors from the top of the Empire State Building. She was 23 years old.

On the ground below, a photography student named Robert Wiles managed to capture the scene minutes after her body landed on top of a parked limousine.

Years later, Andy Warhol appropriated Wiles’ photography for a print called Suicide (Fallen Body).

In her suicide note, she wrote the following:

My fiance asked me to marry him in June, but I don’t think I would make a good wife for anyone. He is much better off without me. Tell my father, I have too many of my mother’s tendencies. I don’t want anyone in or out of my family to see any part of me. Could you destroy my body by cremation? I beg of you and my family -don’t have any service or remembrance for me.

Evelyn Francis McHale was born in Berkeley California Sept 20, 1923.

