Eddie Nash Frightened Former Starwood Employee


Just a heads up. At about this same time in June, 1981… David Lind and Barbara were arriving at the Wonderland house. It must have felt like Dave was right back in the summer o’ love 😉  Damn, didn’t it feel good to be home!

Oh no, not you again.

Oh no, not you again.

The Starwood night club closed down during the same year as the Wonderland murders. It is a strange coincidence. The city officials were tired of the complaints from neighbors, etc., but the timing of the murders and licenses not being renewed is odd.

In “L.A. Exposed” by Paul Young, we find out that…

By 1966 PJ’s had been bought by an organized crime figure, Eddie Nash and reputed organized crime figure Dominic Lucci, and was managed by Gary Fontenot (not an organized crime figure) for many years. In 1973, after Nash bought out Lucci’s ownership interest in the club, it became The Starwood. It closed in 1981, torn down by the City, after too many citations for underage drinking and noise abatement issues. Before it was demolished it caught fire, though not burning totally. This occurred while unexplained fires befell other Nash-owned properties at the time. Subsequently the structure was torn down, and a mini-mall was built on the site.

The jury is still out, so to speak, on whether Dominic Lucci had anything to do with singer Bobby Fuller’s mysterious death! To read about that story, click here.

Let’s move on…

At a punk rock forum, I found this little nugget from a former Starwood employee. I read another account once that was posted by a former waitress or bartender. She said Eddie invited her to his house for a party. She declined. Smart girl. She would have awoke to Greg Diles on top of her.

Starwood manager, Gary, is also mentioned below. The “coat check” scam is just another cover charge. By the time you get in the damn club, you are already $10 light in the wallet!

Oh, my darling Starwood! I was crazy in love with the ‘Wood’. It really was the home of Sex, Drugs, and Rock n Roll. Lol! It was never a place for lightweights, that’s for sure. Anyone who thought all that stuff didn’t go on there was highly naive.You knew the moment you drove or walked under that over marquis that this was OZ. A wonderful decadent OZ of Rock n Roll! I worked there on and off from 72 until it closed down in 82. Sometimes I’d go to my parents and visit, or go to Europe for a visit with my grandmother for a few weeks and come back to work at the ‘Wood’. Cleaning glasses and ashtrays at first,then on to cleaning up the tables on the main floors and up in the VIP club, the offices, etc,and working at the VIP entrance sometimes,and then my final and permanent job:: The ever insane Coat Check. This was before the cage went up. Gary had that put in when people kept stealing coats from the other end of the counter.They could just reach across and grab stuff before I could get to them! The Starwood was my home,my heart and soul.I grew up there, being only 18 1/2 when I arrived at the club for the first time. I got in with an older friend. They didn’t check IDs a lot there till much later on. I’ve never gotten over the loss of that place. The world lost a great nightclub,and personally, I don’t care about Eddie Nash (whom frightened the hell out of me every time he shook my hand), or what he got up to in the ‘underbelly’ of his Nightclub. I just wish it hadn’t ruined the Starwood’s life. I’d never say anything to disrespect the memory of such an iconic place for thousands of people who feel it it’s a part of their youth.

 

