Niece Tells What Happened To Starwood Manager, Gary Fontenot


Gary Fontenot was the manager of the Starwood and worked for Eddie Nash. You got to read a lot about Gary via excerpts that I posted from Lee’s book about his life in Rock and working at the Starwood. Read those posts here.

This is what Angie had to say about her uncle Gary:

My uncle is (was) Gary Fontenot. I would love to know more about him.

Yes, I knew him as the coolest Uncle I had. He would come to Louisiana and visit every couple of years and my parents would fly me up to Hollywood for vacations. I remember when I was young (about 12 years old) they took me to the Starwood to see the place. It was unbelievable to my eyes. The stuff I saw in Gary’s office, I can still see it in my mind. When I graduated from high school in 1982 I flew up there and stayed with Gary for two weeks ~ an incredible two weeks. He was so much fun and I miss him very much. Did you know he passed away in Honduras a few years ago? He was living there and he had a nighclub.

From what I understand, Gary was on the run from the mafia and that is why he moved to Honduras. Before he fled he worked for Merrill Lynch and the word “embezzling” actually came up. In Honduras, Someone shot him one night (attempting to murder him) as he was leaving his club, but he survived. No money was taken from him so it wasn’t robbery. My Dad told me the mofia caught up with him. About a year later a blood clot from the gunshot wound broke free and killed him. Gary’s father who is (was) wealthy was too tight to spend the money to fly his body back to the States for a burial. Supposedly they threw his body on the side of a mountain like trash. I would love to know exactly what went down but I don’t even know where to start. My Dad who is his brother still talks about him all the time. The whole family misses him, he was iconic to all of us and he was so much fun to be around.

